Skip to content

What feels like abundance to you?

March 20, 2024

We’re standing around, chatting about the day’s errands–laundry playing a big part–when she says, “I realized that there’s nothing that gives a sense of abundance as well as a clothesline full of underwear.”

Huh. That wasn’t how I expected she’d define abundance.

I laugh.

“No, I’m serious,” she insists. “A whole clothesline full. It’s such a wonderful feeling.”

Like a good improv partner, our conversation companion jumps in. “But only if they’re the good kind. Not the ragged, full of holes kind.”

“Oh, no,” she agrees. “I’ve got the good kind. None of them are older than two years.”

Is this TMI? I wonder, but she doesn’t think so, so I guess it’s not.

“Look!” she says, and pulls out her phone. She swipes and clicks, and passes around a photo of said clothesline: stretching between two pine trees, there’s indeed a long row of colorful underwear: pinks and yellows, cobalt blues, and forest greens, the newly starting-to-be-green grass in the foreground, the robin’s egg blue sky in the background.

Abundance.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Amy Crehore permalink

    Ha! I enjoyed this little slice. And weirdly, that photo DOES scream “abundance!” Colorful underwear and spring green grass. It’s so specific, but it works!

  2. Tracey permalink

    Even more than the underwear? I love the clothesline! This is a great reminder that happiness is appreciating what you’ve got, not the other way around.

  3. Trish permalink

    So much fun, this, and it has given me an idea. What a terrific prompt: How do you define abundance? Love the images you created from her photograph. Like dyed eggs those undies brighten the backyard stretched between two pines. Love!

Leave a comment