Skip to content

Romance, according to my students

March 15, 2024

I’ve stopped the read aloud just after the main character, Zuli, has met a new character, Orien, as they’re trying to escape monsters. Orien has wings, so he flies Zuli, who doesn’t, to safety.

“Who has an idea to share about our read aloud?” I ask the class.

A. raises her hand. “I’ll bet Zuli and Orion are going to start dating.”

“A__!” the class groans. She says this whenever a female character interacts with a male character.

But then J. pauses. “Actually, flying through the air is pretty romantic.”

One by one, classmates are convinced. “Yeah, flying with someone IS romantic.”

“Especially in dangerous situations.”

I think of Superman, and can’t help seeing the trope.

Readers, should you need to impress a valentine, you heard it here first: take your sweetheart flying in a life-or-death situation. They’re sure to fall in love.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment